Street Experience compaired to Mechanical?

Gad

Reaction score
Which would you say was better to have?

Reason i ask is because all of my scaffolding knowledge and experience has been on mechanical sites
I have always felt that street work was i was missing and to be an actual scaffolder i had to do

Now after working on the streets it seems the way i have been taught and way of thinking are more of a hindrance

One example i can give is me doing a cantilever job and having the labourer question everything i done and say i was making more work for myself-just because i put in bracing and a lacing tube through the bottom to take the rakers

Also,i am not claiming to be a brilliant scaffolder or any better than anyone-im still learning and prob never will learn all that i can
Just when it comes to working with guys on the street its like im from another planet even just for that wee bit extra even if it is just over compensating

Thoughts please

Gad street lads work in a whole different way to site scaffolders , who work in a whole different way to Refinery , power station , off shore scaffolders.
I worked for the first 5 years on Major building sites in London and learned stuff there that has stayed with me to this day, the main difference as i see it is street scaffolders are driven by how fast the job can go up as there is not the same money on the street work so it is nearly always done on a " just put in what is needed " basis , where as sites tend to to be put in every thing you can think of .
I think you need a mixture of both as it makes you a better scaffolder i have seen site lads take all day to put up a house front ad i have seen street lads who couldnt put up a brickie scaffold properly , trying to get away with 8 foot centers and "nipping" the doubles.