What's the best way to get into scaffolding?

JoeNTMY

Reaction score
I'm looking at pursuing scaffolding as a career.

I'm 26 years old and I've been working in the construction industry for 9 years, so I have a bit of experience and knowledge of the industry. I enjoy physical work and (ideally) have to work outside due to having chronic sinus disease.

What's the best way into scaffolding? I know I need at least a green card and I'm willing to start off as a labourer. What do I need to do for the green card? Any other advice?

Thanks

Joe, there are loads of ways to get into the job, my prefered route would always just get a job as a labourer. Your 26 which for me is about a perfect age as you will no doubt pick up the basics fairly quickly which makes it easier for a gaffer to get you your cards. Our card system is quite extensive and I believe there is another about to come out to cover inductions so depending on who you get a start with you may get carded fairly quickly. I do hear a lot of guys moaning about the boss being slow to send them for cards so you will just have to throw your hook in the water to see what you catch, good luck.

Thanks again!

What exactly do I have to do for my green card?

I'm from Reading, Bobby.

Thanks again!

What exactly do I have to do for my green card?

I'm from Reading, Bobby.

It's just a touch screen health and safety test similar to a car theory test. Nothing too specific to scaffolding so you should pass easy enough. Have a look at the cisrs website.

Its the best job in world mate I enjoy it. If ur willing to learn u will buzz throuh it mate all the best

If memory serves anglewest do quite a lot of work round your way as the based in maidenhead I think might be worth giving them a bell mate

I'll look them up and give them a call.

Thanks!

It's just a touch screen health and safety test similar to a car theory test. Nothing too specific to scaffolding so you should pass easy enough. Have a look at the cisrs website.