What's basic scaffold?

Welcome mate a basic scaffold is something straight forward and advanced is more thinking....... Obvious I know but...... If it's cards ur on about ie scaffolders trust me this thread can go on till Xmas answering that one lol

I work as a site manager. We have in house scaffold inspector. I've got temporary roof joint with platforms on facade. Now, he claims that he is not competent to inspect my scaffold as it's not a basic structure. He is asking me to find somebody who holds a advance scaffold card. I searched entire web and didn't find a real definition of how to recognise basic and advanced scaffold so I decided to turn to the most reliable ppl in this subject and I found this forum.
Just want to understand what are the specs of a basic scaffold. Don't know if I'm being wind up by the bloke.
Any help is greatly appreciated.
Cheers.

I work as a site manager. We have in house scaffold inspector. I've got temporary roof joint with platforms on facade. Now, he claims that he is not competent to inspect my scaffold as it's not a basic structure. He is asking me to find somebody who holds a advance scaffold card. I searched entire web and didn't find a real definition of how to recognise basic and advanced scaffold so I decided to turn to the most reliable ppl in this subject and I found this forum.
Just want to understand what are the specs of a basic scaffold. Don't know if I'm being wind up by the bloke.
Any help is greatly appreciated.
Cheers.

A scaffold Inspector holding a certified Inspectors Card should be competent and able to inspect all types of Scaffolds if not able to do so hes claiming wages under false pretences.

Contact a Scaffold Inspection Service Company and spend a bit of cash

Last edited:
A scaffold Inspector holding a certified Inspectors Card should be competent and able to inspect all types of Scaffolds if not able to do so hes claiming wages under false pretences.