Some guidance needed

speedin

Reaction score
I already made my first post in the new member section. I figured I might as well make a thread in main forum, as it seems like it gets tons more traffic.
My name is Matt, I am a freestyle ski coach here in the US, (Wisconsin). My fellow coaches and myself are trying to figure out new ways we can train our athletes in the off season when there is no snow. I figured this would be a great forum to get advice as its based in the UK. The UK as I am sure most of you know, are the kings of dryslope skiing.
We are interested in constructing a scaffold drop in platform. Something that is decently tall, and steep, to allow a skier to gain enough speed to hit a jump, and land into an airbag. The drop in would be covered in synthetic snow. We don't know anything about scaffolds. So we are looking to gain as much insight and knowledge as possible. We would like to be able to dismantle and move it as well. I have tons of questions, but I will hold out until I get a response first. Please feel free to shoot down our idea if it is not realistic.
Something very similar to this. Not sure how to post pics yet.
Annecy gets Olympic fever | Le Franco Phoney

Last edited by a moderator:
Hallo speedin,welcome to the forum. Why not design a curved ramp in sections. would have to be huge tho. sketch and post a pic,might help

Last edited:
Hallo speedin,welcome to the forum. Why not design a curved ramp in sections. would have to be huge tho. sketch and post a pic,might help

I saw an enclosed ski sllope in nz Built on the side of a hill,generated snow I think,must have these in the States

Welcome speedin,it can be done easily enough,in fact i think karl posted a very old pic of one on here not so long ago,it would be a costly exercise to buy and build it though with a big labour cost everytime you wanted it dismantling and re'erecting,but the fella's on here would certainly be able to throw it up and down for you;):cool: