Whose job is it to make sure a scaffolder is Qualified?

Tubeguy

Reaction score
Hi,
Was just wondering if any of you can help me. You guys see to have an intimate knowledge on all things scaffolding.
If somebody is erecting a scaffold with just a labourers card and the HSE turn up and discover he's not qualified, who is liable, the labourer in question or the company that sent him out there to do it?

Any feedback appreciated.

Thanks.

The company that sent him to do the job will be hung from the short and curly's for sure. There are some occasions where men can get caught up in a prosecution but mainly for health and safety breaches like failing to wear PPE issued and the like. Are you the labourer or the company?

Maybe just an impartial third party ;).

Nah I'm the labourer. I've been in the job for nearly 15 years and am perfectly competent At what I do just the firm I've been working for for the past 5 years refuse to put me through my ticket. Had a run in with a safety officer today who told me "I'd be hearing from her."

Did she find anything wrong with the scaffolding or the way you were working?

No I was doing everything by the book. The only thing she was concerned about was the lack of a ticketed scaffolder. Just making sure I wasn't in the SHlT here. Don't mind the company being strung up. Couldn't happen to a nicer firm really :/

The company are required to check your credentials; you are required to tell them when you are not “qualified” to do something (even when you are able to do it)

The company are required to check your credentials; you are required to tell them when you are not “qualified” to do something (even when you are able to do it)

The company are well aware of how (un)qualified I am. They've had plenty of chances to put me on my course. They even went so far as to book me on but pull the plug last minute as we were too busy.
I just wanted to check I wasn't going to get hauled up before a court.

Thanks for the replies, guys.