subs & insurance. help!!

clarkey

Reaction score
Evening all, can you help me please taken on some sub-contractor scaffs we got them to sign a sub contractor contract then ask for there insurance (public liability) but the said its not down to them, they said its down to us off are insurance.
Does not sound right to me!

surely they need there own insurance.

If they are bona-fide sub contractors they would usually have their own insurance.
I know some lads who have worked for the same company for years and they have their own insurance.

At the end of the day if you don't want them working on your insurance,(some policies only cover you if employees are directly employed) give them the choice, get their own insurance or no job

Im no expert , but if these guys are self employed , would they not need to have some sort of insurance behind them , after all their operatin as a 1 person company , so would they not need some sort of insurance for themselves incase of accidents

If you are paying them as CIS self employed then i think its down to you.

havin worked self employed now and then especially in the last few years , id always wondered about this , i eventually got myself covered with an insurance policy incase of accidents , but the majority of employers ive had with self employment have not even mentioned anything like this , also when working through agencys in scotland and england no one seems to really mention it , can anyone clarify this situation , what it should be?

Im self employed and was for years previously.
Never had insurance or ever been asked for any ?!!!

if a self employed guy doesnt work he doesnt earn , so surely if a self employed guy falls an hurts himself , he must need to have insurance or something , who else will pay for his hospital bills an stuff