part 1 help

fuller89

Reaction score
Hi my name is adam, I've been scaffolding for five years but got no tickets.
I need info about how much the part 1 course is and how long it takes, ect...

Hi Adam, welcome to the forum. Depending on where you live and your circumstance there may well be some funding for you to use for training. I think the average cost is around 850-950 depending on where you go but I always advise keeping your money in your pocket and get a job with a firm who would be willing to train you whilst you earn. Not everyone agree's with me for various reasons but if you can get the funding then so could the employers and I have never understood why someone could work in this game for so long without getting sent for tickets. PM Simian if you are determined to pay for your own and good luck with what ever you decide.

Im currently on job seekers, but they said I can get funding, but i need every last detail about this course.
The only access to the internet ive got is through my phone and its so slow.
Thanks for your replys.

Oh well you are halfway there then. There are loads of centres around now offering part 1 and the good thing is I wouldn't worry too much about quality unless the funding is going to carry you through to at least a basic scaffolder which will mean at least 3 visits. If your just getting your first part just pick the one most local to you meaning you won't have a lot of travel expenses. Without knowing your location it's difficult to point you in the right direction but would jobseekers not help you in that regard anyway?

I'm based in coventry, i think the nearest one is in birmingham.
Jobseekers won't do any research into it, there making me do it all myself.

---------- Post added at 02:34 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:31 PM ----------

What's the difference between part 1 and basic scaff. I thought they were the same. how come you would have to go there 3 times.

Adam,