Need tips how to start please

Tom_London

Reaction score
Greetings Lads

Ive already introduced myself in newbiew section.
I am hard worker, in good physical and mental shape and love the heights:)
But who dosnt who love scaffolding right?
Currently in London.

I am having problem finding the way how to get into this industry at first point.
As I never did scaffolding before, but Id love to.
I passed health and safety exams.
Currently working in one warehouse in enfield.

I would really appreciate tips and advices how and/or where could I work as a apprentice in building site with scaffolder and learn and gain experience.
Working towards saving money for CISRS as well.

All help very appreciated, thank you alot in advandce.

Best regards
Tom

just have a ring round some firms mate

best bit of advice for a new starter is be keen. most blokes would rather show someone their little indian tricks to someone who is eager, then to someone who just coasts thro and does just enough

well said gus yea the only thing you can really do is ring all the firms in ur area which ur able to travel to the only thing iwill say is now is not a great time to get into the game what with xmas round the corner but keep trying and ring everyweek till they take you on oh yea and be prepaired for the biggest bunch of piss takers known to man kind cuz if you cant take that ull not get through ur first week

theres 2 good bits of advice there, if your willing to learn thats half the battle! and be prepaired to be ribbed about all sorts, their only joking with you its what makes the day go quicker! don't take it personal give it back to em! and don't show weakness! as for getting a start try some of the bigger firms and ask if they need yard staff and start from the beggining or ring smaller ones and tell em you've laboured for brickies and roofers on sites before and know your way round a scaffold and a ladder??
good luck mate

thank you for all answers.