I'm green...Need any advice you can give.

Scaffold_Rookie

Reaction score
Hello Forum,

Very happy to have found this resource. I recently started a new job as a Sales Rep. with a scaffold company. I have about 12 years of solid sales experience, but absolutely none of it is in the construction industry or with scaffolding.

Needless to say, I have a lot of learning curves to overcome, both learning the nuances of construction (lingo, hierarchies, PROCESSES, etc.) as well as understanding all the internal workings of a new company as well as the different scaffold systems, pricing, bidding, etc.

Most people at the company are industry veterans of 10+ years that don't have the patience or interest in really helping me get up to speed, and I really don't have anyone who is in a similar role that I can shadow and really mentor me on how to be successful without spending 1-2 years fumbling through trial and error on my own.

I understand that being so green means that regardless, it will take time. If anyone can contribute any tips, tricks, etc. to helping me make the best use of my time while I'm not really under the gun to be driving heavy business, I would definitely appreciate it.

Anything related to sales side of the business is also greatly appreciated, and if I can in turn help anyone else out in any way, I will do what I can.

Thanks and I look forward to hearing your feedback!!

Hi and welcome to the forum. You are in the right place and have the right attitude to get help, you will be fine. Is it really windy over in Chicago?:noworry:

get out with a squad youll pick things up if not the lingo..... the fittings lol with in no time youll know wt eveyr thing is so get ya sell out with a gang and graft

Welcome to the forum scaffold rookie,Hope you have a good sense of humor,some replies might confuse you. Good luck:laugh:
I know nothing about sales,scaffold systems different in the states.