Help needed by non-scaff bod!

tenn1svet

Reaction score
We've had some scaffolding installed (by carded scaffolders) for roof access and edge protection, around 3 sides of a 2-storey extension. It seems to use rakers instead of ties to the building. The ground at the foot of the raker slopes away from the building.

The foot of the rakers have no baseplate, and the ground has not been dug away as per GE700 produced by CITB (pg. 9 of jan 2009 issue).The ends of the tubing is just rested on wood (or in one case, left on the paving slab). The foot of the raker is not tied back to the main scaffold, though it is tied to the scaffold higher up.

Are there valid reasons for this and I'm over-reacting, or is it a case of "can you come back and do it properly, please?". Sorry there's not much more info, but any suggestions will be helpful, noting I have no scaffold experience as such and was relying on a reputable company.

Doesn't need a base plate, a sole board is common practice and as long as the length from the bottom of the raker up to the tie back is no greater than 14', it's all good!

What he said, you don't put baseplates under rakers. How high is the job? Do you have any pictures??

2 storeys you where lucky to get Rakers with or without base plates , why you asking if you already have a copy of a CITB book ?

tenn1svet. Welcome to this Forum. Please could you up load some pictures of the raking ties. If there is a problem the scaffs on this site will tell you in no uncertain terms.

Is it doing the job it was erected for?

If the answer is no get them back.
If the answer is yes stop bleating.

Is it doing the job it was erected for?

If the answer is no get them back.
If the answer is yes stop bleating.

I think that tone is un-called for. Any skilled profession develops a "feel" for the job that to the novice does not have. Scaffolding is no different in this respect.

The OP probably just wants reassurance that what has been erected is good for purpose.