Dodgy Elbow

extra180

Reaction score
Hi,
I'm a self builder putting a loft extension on his semi.
7 months ago I erected 3 tonne of scaffold around my house to give myself access:
http://www.scaffoldersforum.com/sca.../22265-self-build-scaffold-hse-complaint.html
3 lifts, 500 fittings and several steel beam connnections later my right arm and elbow had become useless and limp, I'd obviously strained something (being paranoid I must have been overtightening everything), I tried to work through it, but by January I had to stop all work, as it had got to the point where I couldn't turn door handles or hold a cup of tea, and being right handed its been a right pain. Its getting better, but am just worried I might jump back in to building too soon and reinjure myself.

Is this injury common to scaffolding, and any scaffolders had similar experiences - and how friggin long does it take for this type of injury to recover, I've been laid up for 4 months now.

Your wise words appreciated.
Extra ...

Common enough in our trade although your's seems pretty extreme. You didn't get it just building one scaffold no matter how much you over torqued the fittings but an impact wrench and ibuprofen will help alleviate your troubles.

what a c o c k should of got the profesionals in

scaffold

you will have to stop pulling yourself to bits

I had Tennis elbow years ago, had to have op as every fitting i turned the pain would shoot throughout the arm, now been off last 7mths due to shoulder repairs, oh what a great game this scaffolding is.

I had tennis elbow too, I couldn't seem to get my backhand returns in... Quick switch to badminton and everything was fine...