Are scaffold pull tests a legal requirement?

johnjnorton

Reaction score
Good evening, I am a site manager and one of our sub-contractors has assembled a three storey scaffold on the front of a building as part of a window replacement programme. The scaffold is tied into the building. My health and safety manager is insisting on seeing pull test results, stating it is a legal requirement. Is this true?
can anyone help?

Good evening, I am a site manager and one of our sub-contractors has assembled a three storey scaffold on the front of a building as part of a window replacement programme. The scaffold is tied into the building. My health and safety manager is insisting on seeing pull test results, stating it is a legal requirement. Is this true?
can anyone help?

Yes.

Read NASC guidance TG4:11 for all sorts of tit-bits about tying scaffolds.

Unfortunately yes

but any other drilled anchors such as false ceiling , RSJs , etc etc dont for some stupid
fu cking reason

A scaffold company has a legal duty to build a safe stable suitable scaffold with safe access and egress under the health and safety at work act 1974, section 2 and 3. Scaffolding is also covered by the work at height regulations 2005 as amended as well. This scaffold will be for others to work on and it must be built where it cannot fall down, nobody can fall off it and nothing can fall off it. So in simple terms if it is tied by masonry anchors they need a test.

good evening, i am a site manager and one of our sub-contractors has assembled a three storey scaffold on the front of a building as part of a window replacement programme. The scaffold is tied into the building. My health and safety manager is insisting on seeing pull test results, stating it is a legal requirement. Is this true?
Can anyone help?

save the scaffs a head acke and ask them if they can put some raker. Buttress on the job ;)