Advice Please

Glen_C

Reaction score
I am interested in getting in to scaffolding, but aged 36 and not having a driving licence am I wasting my time trying? I do have some experience of scaffold labouring, as have worked as a labourer on building sites for years and done the scaffold labouring to earn a little extra money on the side, also way back in 91-93 did 18months work experience at a scaffolding firm when I was a youth trainee.

Hi Glen

Welcome to the forums :)

I don't have any advice for you, I'm afraid, but hopefully some of the guys can give you their words of wisdom!

Hello Glen , as they say your never to old mate , oldest lad i seen on the tools was 72 :eek: and my old man still does the odd week and he is almost 66, so if its what you wanna do the go for it :blink1:

theres a guy called roy in chester le street still on the tools and hes well into his 70 s , scaffoldings all about tickets and sucking c*ck these days so your age shouldnt be an issue

the more tickets you have the more prizes you get even thou some dont have the exsperience and hide behind the ones that do you no the ones.that wait untill the jobs set out then jump up and start fixing ante got a problem with it cause we all had to learn but dont give tickets out like confetti cause whats comeing through is not good exsperience first then tickets too much swagger jagger in the industry lol!!

Hi Glen and welcome to the forum. At 36 you are going to struggle to take the same usual crap the grunnies have to deal with, but you will also have a great advantage with desire and drive which would set you head and shoulders above the usual bunch. Another problem that could arise is some smarmy 21 year old will probably leave you for dust in the scaffolding stakes at some point which can be hard to take. As the boy's have said, go for it, there is still plenty time to earn a good living from a good trade.