Scaffold Training for a Builder (1 Viewer)

extra180

Reaction score
Hello,
I am a self builder who owns his own scaffold and has constructed two lift independant tied scaffold for house extension work.
I have no formal training, but consider myself competent - through experience.
To allow sub contractors to climb and use my scaffold, should this be erected by and scaff tagged, by a formally trained competent scaffolder ?
Can someone advise what level of training they should have to do this.
And whats the minimum of formal training could I do to allow me to scaff tag my own work, so to allow contractors on top. (assuming a 'scaff tag' is required).
Thanks.

Although you consider yourself competent a judge sat in a court of law may not. If you were in court due to an accident would you be able to answer questions regarding bracing , tie patterns, design requirements. If not you are best getting a reputable scaffold company in

I agree, but I am looking to either acquire the necessary skills, or employ one other to work with me with those skills.
I assume someone with his own scaffold ... is legally permitted to employ another to help erect it, it doesn't necessarily need to be a 'company' to erect it?.

For a person to be competent (ie myself), what would be required - what formal training should he undergo.
In addition - could he (myself) work under a suitably skilled scaffolder, as a scaffold labourer, and in this instance - what qualifications/competency evidence should he ask for, of the skilled scaffolder.

I understand Scaffold does not need to be 'Tagged' by law.
It should be inspected once a week, again - which level of competency should be expected from someone in a position to do this inspection.

Thanks

Last edited:
This post has gotta be a wind up....youve obviously got a fair knowledge of whats required & tbh a little bit of google will fill in the rest.